Dominican Republic

Nine provinces of the Dominican Republic on red alert due to advance of tropical storm Grace


The Emergency Operations Center (COE) issued this Saturday a red alert for nine provinces of the country in the event of the eventual passage of Tropical Storm Grace.

Meanwhile, it maintains the yellow alert for another eight demarcations and green for fourteen demarcations.

Among the provinces that are on red alert are, La Altagracia, La Romana, San Cristóbal, El Seibo, Samaná, Maria Trinidad Sanchez, El Gran Santo Domingo, Barahona and San Pedro de Macorís.

While on yellow alert are Duarte, Monte Plata, Pedernales, San José de Ocoa Azua, Hato Mayor, Peravia and Sánchez Ramírez.

The fourteen provinces on green alert are Hermanas Mirabal, La Vega, Monsignor Nouel, Espaillat, San Juan, Bahoruco, Independencia, Elías Piña, Montecristi, Puerto Plata, Dajabón, Santiago, Santiago Rodríguez and Valverde.

Through a statement, the COE indicated that, at 7:00 p.m. Tropical Storm Grace was located near latitude 16.1 north and longitude 61.4 west, over Guadalupe, Leeward Islands and about 780 km east / southeast of Cabo Engaño (La Altagracia), moving rapidly westward at about 43 kph and winds sustained highs of 65 kph. Minimum central pressure of 1010 millibars.

“By virtue of the foregoing and the provisions of article 2, chapter 1, of Law 147-02, on Risk Management, this Emergency Operations Center (COE) issues a Red alert for possible tropical storm conditions for the The coastal strip from Punta Caucedo to Cabo Engaño and from Cabo Engaño to Cabo Cabrón, likewise issues a Yellow Alert, from Punta Caucedo to Pedernales, and from Cabo Cabrón to Bahía de Manzanillo.

From Diario Libre.

Leave a Response